General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Sneak peek at Toyota 1-ton pick up

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 12:59 AM
Chapter President

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Sneak peek at Toyota 1-ton pick up

I believe this truck was used for some testing (by the looks of it). It isn't a diesel but I bet it could be retro-fitted.

http://www.smccd.net/accounts/purcha...tem.asp?ID=136
Old 06-01-2006, 09:38 AM

Originally Posted by Original Junior
I believe this truck was used for some testing (by the looks of it). It isn't a diesel but I bet it could be retro-fitted.

I've had one of these, bought it here in Canada. It had a diesel, I think it was a 2.5 litre, 4-cyl. Got the most amazing fuel mileage. It had started out as a 1/2 ton, the previous owner got a kit from somewhere to bump it up to a 1-ton. I work in construction, it would carry an unbelievable amount of material with little back end sag. That was the "pro" of the truck, now here's the "con":

- rusted like you wouldn't believe
- noisy, my hearing is still bad from it :-)
- ugly, so the girlfriend left me
- underpowered, some hills here in B.C. had to be climbed in 2nd gear
- not a high top speed, maybe 110 km on the flat
- pretty spartan interior, seat not comfortable for long drives

I've had Toyotas before and after this model, always liked them for their durability. They've conquered the rust problems, definitely worked on interior comfort. I have a Dodge 2003 now, bought it because I got the Dodge 0% down, 0% financing for 4 years - walked out of the dealership without paying a cent. Toyota didn't offer that then, still doesn't now. I've had problems with the truck, some covered by warranty, some out of my pocket cost, pretty happy overall with it.
Old 06-01-2006, 10:07 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Originally Posted by timmers
I have a Dodge 2003 now.