Fuels / BioDiesel / Diesel Prices Use this forum to discuss your biodiesel information, and to find the best price on fuel.

Newb needs info on WVO conversion!

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 12:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newb needs info on WVO conversion!

I've been considering doing this WVO conversion. I understand the concept behind the conversion, but I'm a newbie to all the details such as different heating and filtering methods, etc. Seems like Greasecar has the cheapest price on a kit. Is there a reason for that? Is that all I'd need? So do you guys just pull into the back of a restaurant and pour the veggie oil right into your spare tank? Or do you collect the oil and go home to filter it, etc... Please fill me in! How hard is it to collect the oil from restaurants?? Thanks for all your input!
Old 08-23-2006, 12:23 PM

Originally Posted by wcbcruzer
I've been considering doing this WVO conversion. I understand the concept behind the conversion, but I'm a newbie to all the details such as different heating and filtering methods, etc. Seems like Greasecar has the cheapest price on a kit. Is there a reason for that?
Yes. Their system is very simple [read- not enough heat] and not of the best materials. Look at these:
http://www.frybrid.com/kittest.htm
http://www.frybrid.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4978

Is that all I'd need? So do you guys just pull into the back of a restaurant and pour the veggie oil right into your spare tank? Or do you collect the oil and go home to filter it, etc... Please fill me in!
No. You have to prefilter and dewater the oil first.

How hard is it to collect the oil from restaurants?? Thanks for all your input!