Fuels / BioDiesel / Diesel Prices Use this forum to discuss your biodiesel information, and to find the best price on fuel.

Biodiesel/vegetable oil as fuel

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2007, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Biodiesel/vegetable oil as fuel

Hey guys, I was looking into brewing my own diesel, and was wondering if any of you were already doing it...... if you have, what your experience has been....positive and negative.
Thanks
Old 09-10-2007, 10:34 PM

I personally am not making it.
My friend has been making it easily for a few years now.

I have been using it at B100 (100%) on and off for a couple years.
I have had NO problems running it. However since im all stock fuel system/ lines
i dont run it continuously but I will do a couple tanks at a time.
to clean out the system/ lines.

its a little harder to start in very cold weather.
but smells better than diesel

have not tried veggie oil yet tho.
Old 09-11-2007, 08:05 AM

If i could find someone local that was brewing their own veggie fuel, it would make deciding lot easier.
Old 09-11-2007, 08:05 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have run WVO in my truck up 33% in the tank. I have done 2 WVO 2 tank set ups with a friend. One was on a Benz 300td and the other was a rabbit. The stuff will burn. Long term effect couldn't tell since I have been doing it off and on for 2 years. Up til now about the only real difference is the idle gets slower with the more veg you run. In the winter veg will gel very easy. personally I stop using it in the tank when the temps get below 50F. for year round the 2 tank heated set up is the way to go.
Old 09-11-2007, 10:11 AM