Big Rigs Talk about other Cummins powered vehicles here. As a matter of fact, it doesn't even have to be Cummins, but it will be diesel! :)

European & North-American trucks

Old 06-05-2009, 05:57 PM

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
European & North-American trucks

Hi guys.

I have to say for starters that I'm not a professional truck driver, and I'm from Finland, so some of the questions might feel funny.

What do you guys think about european trucks? I don't know single one of truck company or driver in here who actually works with Pete, Kenworth,Mack or some other North American truck model. Our system has basicly made those trucks illegal. 25.25meters is the maxinium length here.
There are also some turning radious limitations. Not talking about E-approved lights and other systems.

I have seen a one 1984 Kenworth W-900 in here, it was among one of the stunt car acts in here.

Anyway, I have allways liked forward engined big long nose styled chromed trucks over the poor looking cabovers in here.

Some of the north american contacts have been telling me that they thought european trucks small, maybe they are a bit of short, but usually the driver actually sits a lot of higher than in any of your trucks, because the different cab-over design. And the width is usually the same. I have seen some pics of your cab-overs, but it seems that the driver does not sit a lot higher in those than any other of your truck types.

Our trucks here in Finland are very specifically restricted.

The actual truck can be 12 meters/39.37 feet long and 2.6meters/8.54 feet wide.
The actual combination can be 25.25meters/73feet long and 4.2 meters/13.78 feet high .

The max total weight can be 60 metric tons. That's 132000 pounds.

Do you guys use mainly semi trailers only?
We use a lot of these types also:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...telm%C3%A4.jpg

Here's some pics of the types that we use in here:
http://fi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ajoneuvoyhdistelm%C3%A4