4th Gen High Performance and Accessories 2010 and Up Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for fourth generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

egr unpluged

Old 08-08-2012, 08:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
egr unpluged

Hi everyone . I'm new to the diesel world and this forum.
I've been reading the threads for a few days and have a question.
On the 2012 ,2500 can i just unplug the egr valve and be ok or do
i also have to do something with the throttle valve?

thanks
Old 08-08-2012, 10:18 PM

yes you can just unplug the brown plug on the egr valve, I had mine unplugged for a short while until I finally deleted the truck altogether. I hated the check engine light and the fact I couldn't use my remote start with a check engine light on. Drove me nuts and truck felt like it lost power with it unplugged also
Old 08-08-2012, 11:53 PM

I would just go ahead and bite the bullet
I just deleted the EGR valve and cool and also my DPF off my 2011.5 HO. I paid 950$ for the entire package thats including 5" TBE, Smarty Jr. ME, EGR/Cooler delete.
Well worth the money spend couldn't be happier!! MPG's jump up about 6MPG more! and the throttle response has also improved and the sound of a 5" exhaust is awesome!!!
Old 08-10-2012, 01:49 AM

I recommend an H&S for your truck over the Smarty IMO. H&S has the 6.7L figured out better than anybody in the business. I know people will probably get defensive about this but I haven't heard much good about the Smarty with the 6.7L. People having problems with codes still being thrown after deletes etc. I have the H&S Blackmaxx for my 2012 and the XRT Pro for my 08' and I did both deletes myself. The XRT Pro is similar to the Smarty if you don't want the Blackmaxx/MiniMaxx to use for gauges and is priced the same around 700 dollars. Another advantage to the H&S is the overdrive software download.
Old 08-10-2012, 08:50 AM
Administrator / Severe Concussion Aficionado