4th Gen Engine and Drivetrain-2010 and Up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Dual Batteries - Both primary or isolated?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2015, 12:52 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dual Batteries - Both primary or isolated?

Hello,

I've searched the manual and this forum, but I can't find anything that calls out if the two batteries in my "Truck" [2015 RAM 2500 4X4 Tradesman Cummins 6.7 Turbo Diesel] are both primary or if they are isolated.

I looked under the hood for a battery isolator, but I'm new to diesels and dual battery setups, and I can't find anything that looks like one, but I could be just missing it.

I tow a utility trailer (hooked to 7-plug) with a 12V light in the trailer, and my question is based on the scenario of, if I keep the 12V light on in the trailer, at some point will both batteries die, and will I not be able to start the truck? Or, does the 12V trailer electrical system run off of only one of the batteries, and the battery used to start the truck is isolated from the trailer light circuit, and not run down by the trailer light?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-08-2015, 01:12 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Should be able to trace the + conductor from the drivers side battery straight over to the passenger side battery, meaning they are in parallel all the time.
Unless something changed on the 4th Gens, which is unlikely, the batteries are not isolated from each other.
I think isolating the 2 batteries would be opposite of what you'd typically do say in a boat where you isolate the house battery(s) from the cranking battery and then install a voltage sensing relay to combine them for charging from the alternator.
Yes 1 good battery will light off the Cummins in normal conditions, but I'd imagine anything other than ideal conditions, like cold temps, slight discharge from accessory draw would then necessitate the power of 2 batteries.