3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Radio intermittently not working?

Old 01-28-2009, 12:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

so I have had this happen 2x now, start the truck and the radio doesn't work. Power button or any others do nothing. Next time the truck starts it works fine.... this something that others have run into?

I haven't had the truck for that long so I am still pretty new to it and really hope I have not picked up someone else's electrical gremlin....

Thanks for any insight!
Old 01-28-2009, 01:52 AM

Stock radio?
Old 01-28-2009, 03:05 PM

if its stock been there had that problem got replaced warranty, must be short in some of them
Old 01-28-2009, 04:44 PM

Mine did the same thing... All I did was unhook my battery cables for about 15 minutes. Hooked them back up and it is fine ever since. Something about the ECM /Radio control. The ECM controlls EVERYTHING on these trucks!
Old 01-28-2009, 11:58 PM

yup, stock radio but no warranty. Might be time to look for aftermarket?
Old 01-29-2009, 12:51 AM

mine just did the same thing. i had them replace it under warrenty. i had to take a picture with my camera to prove that it was doing it... no codes or anything in the BCM. it was super cold out. so maybe that did it. im not sure. but after i drive a bit, turn the truck back on it would work.....
Old 01-29-2009, 01:32 AM

Duc, that sounds like the same situations mine has been doing, but temp does not seem to matter... -10 works, -20 works, then 0 degrees does not work... it's only done it twice now, but it's odd.

I like the info saying it's the radio itself not some electrical gremlin running around...
Old 01-29-2009, 01:48 AM

Had the same problem. Dealer did an ecm reflash just for the radio. No more problems since.
Old 01-29-2009, 07:45 AM
Just a plain ole guy

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts