3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Class A licence for towing a 10000lb plus trailer in CA?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 02:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Class A licence for towing a 10000lb plus trailer in CA?

IM a firefighter for the US forest service and last holiday weekend some of my buddys went to glamis to b EMT's and pick up all the drunks out there. Well they came back and i was asking how things went and one of the things that they told me puzzled me. They said cops were pulling all the toy haulers over and and making them drop there trailers and weighing them and if they were over 10K they needed to have a class A or they got a fat ticket.

I just want to c if this is true? I tinkered around on the DMV sight but did not find anything im in the market for a toyhauler in the future and i realy dont want to have to take the class A test. I have a CLass B comercial licence with air brake and tank indorcements but i doubt that helps any with a trailer.

Thanks for any feedback
CHris
Old 02-18-2010, 02:44 PM

Same thing here in Va. My trailer is grossed at 9990lb so I don't have to worry about it. "Usually" you won't get messed with unless your truck or trailer have commercial markings on them...
Old 02-18-2010, 02:55 PM

Chris,
They are correct. I sell Towmaster trailers and any trailers over 10K cap. based on the tire cap. reading (stamp) requires a class A. What the trailer companies (TowMaster) do.... They build the 12K cap. trailer off of the 12K frame. The trailers are then down graded from the tires capacity to make it become a 10K cap. trailer. This is to avoid getting a class A licene and other weight fee's and taxes that a larger capacity trailer goes through. I agree.... it's very sticky with the D.O.T.

Jeff
Old 02-18-2010, 05:56 PM