3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2007 and up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Dpf Delete And Egr Plate/unplug

Old 10-19-2008, 03:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dpf Delete And Egr Plate/unplug

Okay I have read almost all of the threads on DPF deletes and EGR unplug/block plate and I wanted to pick you guys and girls brain. Im a newbie on here and my truck is completely stock and last week for the first time my CEL came on. I ran her down to the dealer and they told me that while my DPF wasnt full, my catalyst was, and that since I had the 70000 mile maximum care warranty theyd be taking all of it off and cleaning it out at no cost to me (other than being without my baby for three days). When picking her up my service dealer inquired as to my thoughts on DPF deletes (cause my dealer knew of course that I drive offroad all the time) and expressed that the dealers view on it was that it only voided the emissions and exhaust warranty. So after researching I am considering the DPF delete and EGR block plate/unplug. My questions are:

What are the differences/benefits between the DPF delete Stage 1, 2, 3 kits?

Ive heard some neg things about BADP but they are close to where I live and I think the owner is a fireman so I might get a discount...Is there a reason HS is better?

Do you recommend the EGR block plates or just unplugging the EGR?

If you recommend the unplug route what about when I plug it back in for a trip to the dealer, will there not be a large amount of concentrated soot build up in my EGR that will be dumped into my engine all at once? That cant be good?

Lastly I do not want a whistle when I get the delete do you recommend some type of muffler over the other? Or maybe just getting the exhaust guide?