3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Banks Stinger Kit or other "complete" kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2009, 12:47 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Banks Stinger Kit or other "complete" kit

Hello all. I am new to Dodge and the world of Diesel.

I am buying my first Dodge in a month or two and have decided to go with the 3rd gen Ram. I have driven a friends a few times and have gotten hooked. His is completely stock. I am looking to get a little more oomph out of the engine while having the option of increasing mpg. I also want to liven up the exhaust a bit.

I am not looking at building a stump pulling monster, but would like the option of getting more power for when i want to open her up or for the few times that I tow.

I have spent the past two days searching on the forum and doing some google research.
I have found that a lot of people do not like banks, but it sounds like it is because they are costly.

I like the idea of the banks stinger system because it comes with the programmer, chip, exhaust and intake.

Anyone have experience with this kit.

Does anyone have any other suggestions on other kits that i should look at.

Thank you.
John
Old 03-20-2009, 01:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how much is the kit ? and what are the gains it claims to make ?
Old 03-20-2009, 01:50 PM

Welcome the forum. This is a great place to start.

Usually for the price of the Banks stuff you can make as much or more power cheaper.

BTW, you are already buying a "a stump pulling monster." :-)
Old 03-20-2009, 02:59 PM

Alex from Banks Power quoted me $2400 shipped. Here is the link to the kit that was quoted. Stinger System 75+ hp and 175+ torque advertised. All it say for mpg is increased economy.

I would be happy to get another kit or piece together my own, but this one is just put together already.