3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

'04.5

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2007, 10:07 PM

Location: Alberta Foothills - Power to grow with 6 in a row - XLR8
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'04.5

What should I look out for in a '04.5 6spd 4x4 before I buy it? I'm new to the 3rd gen world.
Old 12-29-2007, 10:43 PM
Banned

ball joints and tie rods other than that i love mine. 04.5 imo is better than the 03-04 because the 600 series cummins (better power) and better than the 05 because of the nv 5600 tranny
Old 12-30-2007, 12:53 AM

Originally Posted by jfranklin
ball joints and tie rods other than that i love mine. 04.5 imo is better than the 03-04 because the 600 series cummins (better power) and better than the 05 because of the nv 5600 tranny
Thanks. I suppose you need a fair amount of miles to wear them out,eh?
Old 12-30-2007, 11:18 AM

Owned 04.5 for 76k mi

Hello. I've owned my 04.5 (48RE auto) for 76k mi and have loved the truck; however, there are a few things you need to look out for, most are minor annoyances to me. Don't get me wrong, I love this truck.

#1 - Mine has always pulled to the right, especially on a road with heavy "road crown". It's been to the dealer 3 times with no true fix. They said "it's within factory specifications." I have not heavily pursued a fix.

#2 - The 04.5 has the 325 HP / 600 ft. lb. High-Pressure Common Rail (HPCR) injected engine. The 04.5 was the 1st year (for non-California trucks) to have/use a catalytic converter. To keep the cat happy the engine utilizes three fuel injection events per power stroke. Since this engine utilizes a catalytic converter the fuel injection system employs a "3rd" fuel injection event to create the correct "atmosphere" in the exhaust gas flow that allows the catalyst to function properly and be healthy, many speculate this reduces MPG versus trucks without catalytic converters; I suspect so as well.