2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

4th gen steering upgrade on a 2nd gen

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 01:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4th gen steering upgrade on a 2nd gen

been hearing alot of talk on this. but havent seen a thread on here yet.. there might be but didn't find it.. anyone confirm if this is true.... I have the 98-99 T-steering already but this does sound better for when the time comes..

http://www.dieselbombers.com/5-9l-24...ing-cheap.html
Old 07-05-2011, 08:45 PM
"Gomer Pyle"

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Its true. I recently bought the 2000 in my SIG after owning my 2011 and the steering was shot. After some investigation, parts from O'Riley's (Lifetime Warranty), 8 hours of pain the install was complete. I have a 4th GEN steering system in my 2000. The only real difference, and I am not a mechanic, is the steering damper. It mounts totally different. I even replaced the steering box, with hoses (X2).

Now I need to stop being cheap and order the steering upgrade support from BDS. Times are tough. Overall the installation was fairly easy. The parts were so much bigger than a stock 2000. I did however use the year 2000 ball joints and swing arm components. The 4th Gen would not work
Old 07-06-2011, 12:56 AM

good to go, well i did do the 98-99 conversion 2 years ago from napa and I too have a lifetime warranty on them and its still great and tight. so i will keep this in the back burner. and yes agree the pictures I have seen the 4th gens are much bigger
Old 07-08-2011, 03:03 PM

Originally Posted by DIESELWRKS
been hearing alot of talk on this. but havent seen a thread on here yet.. there might be but didn't find it.. anyone confirm if this is true.... I have the 98-99 T-steering already but this does sound better for when the time comes..

http://www.dieselbombers.com/5-9l-24...ing-cheap.html