24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Tips on replacing my Posi

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 12:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tips on replacing my Posi

I tore up my posi pulling my truck and Im replacing it with a powr lok that just came in today. Its a dana 70 and I got new bearings and races and the posi unit. I'd like any tips or advise from anyone whos changed these before. Now This is my first shot at internal rear end work other than hubs and seal, but I have a decent amount of knowledge about them and I build engines for a living I am confident at this.

When I swap the ring gear to this new posi unit and put it back in will I have to worry about my backlash if I dont touch the pinion gear? What things do I need to pay attention too? I can't afford another $700 posi unit so I need to do it right the first time. Any help is greatfully appreciated, thanks.
Old 11-13-2007, 03:04 PM

I have done many gear changes in the past but haven't pulled a Dana 70 apart. Does the 70 use shims or threaded cones to adjust the carrier bearings?
Most Dana equipment have very tight tolerances so in many installs that call for shims, you can get away with using the same amount of shims that came off the original unit in the new unit.
Take the old bearings and remove a small amount of the inner edge of the bearing so that they will slide onto the carrier and use them as setup bearings. That will make things much easier.
If the Dana 70 uses cones to adjust the carrier, it is just a matter of taking your time on the adjustments. You want approximately 1/8 inch travel on the pinion when everything is set up correctly.
There is alot I left out because of time limitation but send me a note if you have any questions.
Good luck.
Ken
Old 11-13-2007, 04:11 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post