24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Silencer Ring?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2005, 06:34 AM

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Silencer Ring?

Hello I am new to the DTR and just starting out with some small bombs. I have been reading some of the threads and signatures, seems like everyone has removed the silencer ring. Well, I removed mine this weekend and was very disappointed. Fuel mileage dropped and didn't seem to have the same power. Sounded good though. I drove with it out for two days and decided to put it back in. When I went to put it back in, I noticed that without the ring there is about a half inch deep cavity around the center inlet to the turbine. In my own opinion, it looks like without the ring the air creates a turbulence trying to get into the turbo. I was just wandering if any of you thought the same thing?
Old 02-28-2005, 02:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You might want to check to see if something else may have come loose while you were removing the ring. The ring does nothing to effect power, only to hush the whine from the incoming air into the turbo.

PISTOL
Old 02-28-2005, 08:29 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You might want to check to see if something else may have come loose while you were removing the ring. The ring does nothing to effect power, only to hush the whine from the incoming air into the turbo.
Agreed. A LARGE majority of the members here have removed it with no ill effects. I removed mine and the only change was in the about of noise. I got 18mpg then, I get 18 mpg now.

Is it possible that you were laying a little harder into the GO peddle in order to hear the sound of the turbo? That would be the only reason I could see that you milage would drop. If not, I am curious as to what would cause this.
Old 02-28-2005, 09:32 PM