1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

true costs of 400+ HP

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2010, 07:10 AM
Unless it's untaxed, then it's red.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
true costs of 400+ HP

Most of us can rattle off a list of the parts we think will get us at or above 400 HP. Obvious stuff like big sticks, studs, a turbo or two, pump mods, a clutch or converter... And we put an imaginary price on what that stuff costs and figure that what it cost to get to to the goal.

I'd like to get folks chiming in on the supporting stuff that's less obvious. Stuff like Dana 80? Input/output shafts? Just the sort of stuff that breaks once the engine hits 400ish.
Old 11-03-2010, 07:18 AM

I think it depends on what you're using the truck for. That's going to define what it's going to cost in beefing it up. Not that I'm an expert, I'm probably not cracking 200hp!
I was just thinking of say, a sled puller like Pulltilbroke's, as opposed to BC847's, compared to Wannadiesel's. You know what I mean? Andrew is pulling huge loads at high rpm's, David's doing boosted launches but no load, and Faith may dabble a bit, but drives mainly for kicks. It's a good question, but I think, like most things, the answers you'll get are going to be as varied as the ways of actually achieving the 400hp mark.
Old 11-03-2010, 07:30 AM
Unless it's untaxed, then it's red.