12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Smokey joe

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2018, 11:43 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Smokey joe

Hello I am new to diesels so if I ask a foolish question please excuse me. I have a 97 5.9 cummins 5 spd. 2wd w/268K miles, the truck runs fine, but started smoking heavily (white) and using oil. No leaks observed. No bubbles observed in coolant, blow by is moderate. Question Do I just chalk it up to a engine failure and replace the engine or is some testing to isolate the cause worth while? I have also found that the Vac Pump has failed. I usually do my own wrenching, but I'm a little tentative on Diesels. I have decided that if it needs a new Head I will go with a complete engine replacement..(When the cash can be diverted from my wife) I will buy a Reman engine Can someone recommend a supplier? All advice appreciated.
Old 05-09-2018, 12:53 PM

Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by jstapler313
Hello I am new to diesels so if I ask a foolish question please excuse me. I have a 97 5.9 cummins 5 spd. 2wd w/268K miles, the truck runs fine, but started smoking heavily (white) and using oil. No leaks observed. No bubbles observed in coolant, blow by is moderate. Question Do I just chalk it up to a engine failure and replace the engine or is some testing to isolate the cause worth while? I have also found that the Vac Pump has failed. I usually do my own wrenching, but I'm a little tentative on Diesels. I have decided that if it needs a new Head I will go with a complete engine replacement..(When the cash can be diverted from my wife) I will buy a Reman engine Can someone recommend a supplier? All advice appreciated.
i would do a compression test and go from there!
The following users liked this post:
jstapler313 (05-09-2018)
Old 05-09-2018, 01:28 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
from boats.com