12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Making 12v fuel line replacement easier

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2004, 04:53 PM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Making 12v fuel line replacement easier

This tip may have been posted here before, but I hadn't seen it yet, so I thought I'd put this out for general consumption in hopes it helps others.

A short while ago I bought a fuel line replacement kit from LarryB's (no, I don't have any relationship with this company) and I finally decided it was time to replace both the fuel feed and return lines this past week, due to a little more frequent problem of not starting after not running it for a few days.

I studied all I could find here as well as the service manual and dove into the task. As anyone who's ever done this knows, access to these fuel lines isn't the easiest thing, especially where they come up under the intake manifold and are clamped onto the solid lines.

Anyway, here's what I learned that helped me a lot. Remove the fuel separator/filter cannister!! This being in place REALLY limits the area where you can and need to get your hands and tools to remove and replace the fuel line and clamps.

As I also ordered a new fuel filter element about the same time as the fuel lines I decided this was a great time to replace this as well. By removing the fuel filter cannister it made all the difference in getting to the return line & clamp and replacing them both. It's been only a couple of days since I replaced both fuel lines and the filter element, but so far the hard start after setting problem has not happened again.

Replacing the filter element also gave me knowledge of how much grunge/sediment there was in the cannister. Although there wasn't all that much, I was glad I took the time to clean out what there was and verify the water-in-fuel probe was clean.