12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Electrical nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2005, 12:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Electrical nightmare

First off, let me say that this forum is great. I just joined, and this sight has been a huge help, in working on my truck. I now have three problems with my truck that have slowly compounded. First my truck would jump in and out of overdrive. A little while later, whenever I would turn the key on, the ASD relay would click like crazy, stop, then the intake heater would come on. Now, they don't come on at all. My wait to start light comes on periodically while I'm driving, WIF light never comes on. Since the problem started with the heater grid, my tranny won't shift into overdrive at all. Finally, my charging system quit. I'm a little new to the diesel game, and unfortunately I found this site after I had already spent some money. I bought new relays for the intake heater. Dodge sold me a set for a new truck, and said they would work; they didn't. I cleaned the TPS and tested it, and it is working fine. I even tried the potentiometer trick just to be sure. Then I bought a new alternator, because the kid that tested it told me the stator was bad in it. Funny, I just realized that I'm pretty sure there IS no stator in it. Maybe that's why it's bad. I checked all my connections; cleaned them, greased them. I did continuity tests on all the fusible links I could find. I checked grounds. I checked the brake light switch; it had already been repaired once. I checked the gap on the CPS. I found a test for the CPS in my wonderful Chilton. Even though the book covers diesels, it only shows the gas ones. Would the same test work though? It's just a resistance check. After doing some reading on here I am worried that my PCM is bad, and just wanted to make sure I hadn't missed anything. Thanks for any help I receive and t