12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Bad "milage per gallon"

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2007, 01:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad "milage per gallon"

Hey guys, I have had my current 1997 CTD/4WD 2500 for about 6 months. My problem is I am new to the maintenance and performance increases of diesels. I did have a 1996 for awhile and it would get what I thought was not great milage in town (15-16 mpg), but it got great milage on the highway (unloaded, 24-25 mpg). It was the exact same model truck, as my 1997 (4WD 2500). My 1997 truck only gets 10-12 mpg city/12-13 mpg highway. I purchased this truck from someone who I think did not know how to tweak the performance the right way. The truck supposedly has a different set of injectors (Edge stage 2) along with a different TORQUE PLATE (unknown which one), and a new Holset housing with Edge Jammer innards in the turbo. I do not know for a fact that this was done, but was shown a receipt for parts and labor. I have been going over the forums for the last 2 days, reading what everyone has to say. I am throwing this out to get honest opinions as to what I can do to bring my milage up. When I leave a light w/heavy throttle, Lots of BLACK SMOKE, and the smoke will follow until I back of the throttle when-ever. On the freeway, if I have to accelerate to pass, again, lots of black smoke. Acceleration is not that great (about the same as my 96), from the start, but at about 70-75 mph, the power really starts to crank up. I can go from 70 to 100 mph real quick. It makes no difference as to how I use the throttle/acceleration, my milage does not change. Off-road, the truck will go forever on a gallon of fuel. I have a 4 inch straight pipe, no muffler, but had to replace the CAT to comply with emissions here in Vegas, EGT gauge set to 1200* but not sure of how high I can set the warning. I can exceed 1200* real easy un