4th Gen Ram -Non Drivetrain- 2010 and Up Talk about the 2010 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Steering locks up with brake application

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2013, 03:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steering locks up with brake application

Hi all,
I am new to DTR forum, but need some help with an issue that just surfaced on Monday. Had my truck towed to Dodge Dealer, and 2 of their techs could not duplicate the problem nor find any fix.
Issue: After about a 60 mile trip...down a curvey mountain road, with moderate braking, and then about 20 miles of straight highway, I applied the brakes for a stop light, and planned right turn, and as I applied the brakes, the steering wheel became VERY difficult to turn, and did not return to normal power steering until I stepped on the gas. Releasing the brake alone had no effect. The steering was not locked up completely, but extremely hard to turn: harder than when the engine is off, and you steer manually...over-riding the power steering system.
The service dept had never heard of this, but the tow truck (Ram 5500) driver said his truck did the same thing a couple years ago, but has never done it since. My truck did this one time about 1 1/2 yrs ago, but had never repeated itself until this Monday, and it did it about 10 times as I drove home. Of course after getting towed the same day, it won't repeat the symptoms. Any help out here??
2011 Ram 2500, 6.7l diesel.
Old 11-09-2013, 05:44 PM

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts
Welcome to the site, the hoses to the pump have a Teflon liner that separates then collapses, it usually shows up as a whistling sound as the fluid is restricted as it passes through, might want to start there.
Old 11-10-2013, 05:06 PM

Also if it has the "hydro-boost" unit attached to the brake master cylinder unit, it can have a problem as well...internal seal leakage? Maybe check there as well.
Old 11-11-2013, 01:45 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts