HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

New with diesels. Need help with Coolant.

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2003, 03:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New with diesels. Need help with Coolant.

Hi everybody,

I am new to the diesel world and am having trouble deciding what coolant to use. I recently bought a 95 Ford F800 with the cummins engine. I was checking the coolant level today and found that the coolant reservoir was alittle empty. I want to top some coolant off but wasn't too sure about what coolant to buy.

What coolant should I buy for my truck. Could I use the coolant for cars or are their coolants for diesel trucks? Also, where could I find this?

Another question, I am not sure whether this truck has the 12 valves or 24 valves. How could I tell this? In the manual it says it is a FD-1060 engine with 210 HP and 485 ft-ib.s @1600 rpm.
Old 11-08-2003, 01:24 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re:New with diesels. Need help with Coolant.

Coolant is the same for a diesel and a gasser, Just make sure of the color before you add some to the tank, (do not mix the green and the red/orange coolant's together).

As for a Ford F-800, I thought those came with a International or a Navstar (both ford) I personally have not seen a Cummins in a F800 ford truck. What is the year? You can also take the VIN# and call it into a dealer and they can tell you what the eng. make and model is. When you find out let me know. 8)
Old 11-08-2003, 02:07 PM

Not sure but my guess would be a 12 valver. They didn't put the 24's into dodges until 98.5.

Old 11-08-2003, 05:15 PM

The FD-1060 is a 12v