Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   ABDTR #5 (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/abdtr-5-123/)
-   -   12 Valve Conversion Help & Tips??? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/abdtr-5-123/12-valve-conversion-help-tips-220831/)

dodgediesel 10-21-2008 08:52 AM

12 Valve Conversion Help & Tips???

Hey guys. I'm doing a Cummins swap into my 1980 Powerwagon that has 12" of lift on it with 40" Boggers. The entire suspension and diffs are built with Yukon Chrome moly shafts, CTM u-joints and Detroit lockers. My old 360 is way too tired and I'm putting in a good ol' 89 Cummins. The only problem is that I have NO experience with the first gen 12 valves. I am used to the VP trucks and the CR trucks. Can someone point me in the right direction with power upgrades??? Will I be OK with the truck not being intercooled for offroading. That's all this truck does is offroad through huge mudbogs, through the bush and so on. Tater, got any tips????

Thanks for any tips or suggestions guys....:cool::cool:

winkdemon 10-21-2008 10:57 AM

what kind of power do want ?????????? do u want fuel mileage ?????? do u want smoke ??????????? ... i have been playing with these trucks for a few years ,,, they turn on very esay and fairly cheap.... and is it auto or standard ??????????????????????????....

the things i would start with

hx 35
3000rpm spring
unhock the afc
lift pump up grade
fuel screw 1/2 turn off runaway
big exhaust like 5 inch
make sure u are getting full thro

dodgediesel 10-21-2008 05:55 PM

Originally Posted by winkdemon (Post 2250653)
what kind of power do want ?????????? do u want fuel mileage ?????? do u want smoke ??????????? ... i have been playing with these trucks for a few years ,,, they turn on very esay and fairly cheap.... and is it auto or standard ??????????????????????????....

the things i would start with

hx 35
3000rpm spring
unhock the afc