3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Freeze plug fix

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 02:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Freeze plug fix

I am not a mechanic or an english language expert, so follow along at your own risk. I'm not a machnist and I had to get this done tonight so you may take more time to make your parts look pretty. All holes measured on center, measurements are a very close approximation, but should work fine for all intensive purposes. I was working out of my nova which usually stays in my garage and it was 102* yesterday!

The freeze plug on my truck blew out and I decided to fix it myself. With the help of others including Dodgezilla04 and PourinDiesel as well as some great information I picked up on the DTR and TDR, I decided to put together a post with pictures in the hopes of helping someone tackle this job in the future. Many have used either the "remove the transmission" technique or the "lay on the valve cover" technique. Dropping the trans seemed like too much work, and I couldn't reach around the back of the block with much success, so I decided to remove the exhaust system for access. Here are the tools I used.
small slide hammer/dent puller from napa (if the plug is still stuck in the block)

8" punch
ball peen hammer
11mm deep socket + rachet
1/8" drill bit with cordless drill
17/32" drill bit
sheet metal screws (came with dent puller)
telescoping mirror
2 1/4" hole saw
3/4" ratchet wrench
(other tools will be necessary and will vary with added exhaust components)

Other supplies used:
new freeze plug from dealer
gasgacinch or equivalent

red loctite
(3) M12 1.75 35mm or 30mm bolts (30mm for 1/4" material, 35mm for 1/2")
(3) lock washers
Mopar antifreeze (red/orange)
brakecleen or equivalent