Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/2nd-gen-dodge-ram-no-drivetrain-90/)
-   -   Adjusting Rear Disc Brakes on 2002 (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/2nd-gen-dodge-ram-no-drivetrain-90/adjusting-rear-disc-brakes-2002-a-226417/)

wyododge 12-14-2008 12:41 AM

Adjusting Rear Disc Brakes on 2002

Hey All,

Newbie here. I looked around for this and found some threads addressing adjusting rear breaks. I have disc breaks on the rear and could not find the 'star' wheel others have referenced. I did find the slack adjuster off of the e-brake, but from what I understand this is not the proper way to adjust the rear brakes on my truck. It's an 02, 2500, 4x4. Any help??

Fishin2Deep4U 12-14-2008 01:48 AM

Well, you should have rear discs. So, no adjustment necessary. Now, the parking brake uses a drum brake internal to the rotor hat and that can be adjusted.

Dave

wyododge 12-14-2008 01:55 AM

Thanks. I guessing I need to take my rear discs back off.

Fishin2Deep4U 12-14-2008 02:04 AM

Before you tear it apart, what are you trying to achieve or what is wrong??

Dave

wyododge 12-14-2008 02:11 AM

e brake adjustment

pind 12-14-2008 02:35 AM

inboard, look at the inside of the backing plates

you will find oblong rubber plugs recessed into the spider area.

Pull these plugs out, and adjust the e-brake shoes using the starwheels that you will see through those holes.

Or, plan B. remove the rotors, measure the inside of the e brake "drum. take that measurement minus .020". set the shoes to that spec, and re-install the rotors. That is the way that Ford used to do it on their diffs. It works, but rather time consuming.

wyododge 12-14-2008 02:49 AM