Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   1st Gen. Ram - All Topics (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/)
-   -   Flushing Auto trans by pulling return line? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/flushing-auto-trans-pulling-return-line-98319/)

serious 04-03-2006 06:55 PM

Flushing Auto trans by pulling return line?

Hi all, i've been wondering if i could flush the transmission oil by pulling one of the oil return lines from the oil cooler? I've already dropped the pan and changed the filter, but i know i only got about half of the old, dirty fluid out.
I was thinking pulling the return line, put in it a oil container and let it run in nuetral until it runs out of fluid( or close to it). Shut it off, fill it back up and do this over until the fluid comes out clean. I've never done this before, so i don't know if it's a good idea or not and i don't want to mess anything up.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Brent

edwinsmith 04-03-2006 07:37 PM

sounds risky but you might be ok if there's no load on it. The pumps need oil all the time.

Edwin

rustbucket 04-03-2006 08:00 PM

I've never tried it,but a friend of mine does it every time he services his trucks tranny. He says it does waste some fluid,but his has 300,000 miles on it with out a rebuild. His truck is a 1st gen. cummings with three speed auto. :)

G1625S 04-03-2006 08:02 PM