Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Air lifts, Super Duty Bags

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2003, 07:30 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Air lifts, Super Duty Bags

I had been running Air Lifts smaller helper bags for about 3-4 years, and always liked the ride on the highway. I only had a problem with side streets and larger bumps. The overload springs sat about 3/4"-1" off the stops, and anything more then a large expansion joint, and when the suspension traveled, bam the overload would smack there stops and make for a rough ride. Anyway I got tired of this, and read What another fellow did, and thought it made sence. He removed the overload spring pack, and add a Air Lift Super Duty Bag set. So I thought why not? I basicly did the same , It is pretty stright forward. BY removing the overloads there is plenty of room to mount the new bags centered on the axle. Now there is also much more room for the suspension to travel, and no slapping of the overloads, and spilling of your coffee. The new bags are rated at 5000lbs, so no worry about loosing load capacity. Since I already had an on board compressor, tank and all the control in place, It was a quick install. The new bags are huge, and very, very thick. They make my old ones look pathetic. I would think anyone that wanted a nicer, less bumppy ride should give this some thought.
Old 10-24-2003, 08:00 PM

Re:Air lifts, Super Duty Bags

It's funny, My truck had them on when I bought it. When I had my 10' slide-in on I only needed about 35 psi tyo ride good. With my 5er I found that even with 15 psi in them the ride was terrible. If I dropped all the air out with the 5er then the ride was greatly improved. When I drove big trucks air ride was the best ride. Anybody else have the same experience?
Tom
Old 10-27-2003, 07:59 AM