Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   Towing and Hauling / RV (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/towing-hauling-rv-95/)
-   -   Gooseneck vs. Kingpin (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/towing-hauling-rv-95/gooseneck-vs-kingpin-71634/)

sday 06-30-2005 11:11 AM

Gooseneck vs. Kingpin

I did a search on "Goose" and "King" and didn't see a thread related to this. I've been having discussions whith some friends about Gooseneck vs. KingPin.

Any thoughts?

I'm a complete novice with respect to this topic, but so far the only info I've been able to get is...

1. The Gooseneck setup allows more articulation if you need to take the trailer off-road. Assuming the width of the neck doesn't interfere with the bed of the truck.

2. King Pin hitch is more stout. Although my buddy with the 30k# BMW gooseneck disagrees.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks
-Steve

gunracer1 06-30-2005 11:14 AM

well a lot of the areas that i go rock crawling are not what you would call rv friendly. so the gooseneck is the only option for me.

pappyman 06-30-2005 11:20 AM

A gooseneck hitch is rated for 30,000 lbs compared to 16-24 K on a 5th wheel.....this is why most equipment trailers are either Goosenecks or Pintel hitches on GVWR of over 18,000 lbs so they can carry the weight.....Ive seen a few equipment trailers with 5th wheel hitches but never a GVWR of over 18,000 lbs with this setup

RustyJC 06-30-2005 11:20 AM

Are you going to be towing an RV? If so, try a search on "gooseneck adapter" here and on RV-specific forums such as iRV2.com. If you want an RV with a gooseneck hitch, you either (1.) need to have one designed and built in that configuration or (2.) should get the RV manufacturer's written authorization (for warranty protection) should you use a gooseneck adapter on a 5th wheel pin box.