Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Do you have to stop at the scales w/ a personal vehicle/trailer?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2002, 11:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do you have to stop at the scales w/ a personal vehicle/trailer?

Just wondering. I have a new 30' enclosed car hauler and am not sure if I should bother stopping or not. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don't. Has anybody gotten into trouble for not stopping??? I personally haven't had them chase me down yet for not stopping but I can't seem to find the right person at DOT to tell me the regulation for who has to stop..
Old 10-16-2002, 12:04 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re:Do you have to stop at the scales w/ a personal vehicle/trailer?

I've been pulling my GN for over three years now and have never stopped. I have been told as long as you are not commercial, you do not stop. Just what I've heard.
Old 10-16-2002, 12:09 PM

You don't have to stop at any scales. DD4x4 is correct, commercial vehicles and semis only! Someone else had said some state, Texas maybe?, says &quot;NO PICKUPS&quot; on the scale signs.... <br><br>Tony
Old 10-16-2002, 12:12 PM
Administrator

They will get pi, um, peed off if you go through just to see what you weigh and will more than likely find something to hassle you about then.
Old 10-16-2002, 01:59 PM

If you don't have at least a 24k plate on your truck...don't bother. That is what I was told by DOT.
Old 10-16-2002, 02:56 PM
Administrator

I've seen signs that say &quot;unlicensed vehicles must stop&quot;<br>so that would lead me to believe if you have vehicles on that trailer you better stop.<br><br><br>phox
Old 10-16-2002, 06:56 PM
Admin Team Leader

Received 207 Likes on 158 Posts