Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

P pump fuel pressure help

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2019, 10:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
P pump fuel pressure help

I'm new to the diesel scene and am needing a little help. I have tried to talk to different shops but of course they don't want to tell me anything they want me to bring them my truck so they can charge me. I have a 01 3500 5.9 with the p pump. It had this and some other mods when I bought it. I recently put a field sump in it and when I was ready to fire it up I cracked the lines at the p pump. Bumped the ignition so the lift pump would ingage so I could bleed the air out. I noticed that 2 of the lines had fuel pouring out and the other didn't. What does this mean? Are my injectors going out or already out? Any help would be mighty appreciated.
Old 07-05-2019, 12:26 PM

Received 47 Likes on 42 Posts
While I am not very familiar with the P7100 pump as my 01 used the oem VP44, when I bled my lines in the past I would do one at a time at the head. Once they had fuel coming out I would tighten it up and then do the next one. I dont ever remember having to do more than 3 before the truck would start. Bad injectors should not keep a P7100 or VP44 from sending fuel through the lines that I am aware. Each injector has its own line from the pump to the injector. Also unless I misread your post I think you will need to crack the injector lines at the head to get the air out of the lines between the pump and the injector. Injectors in the 01 are not smart if they have the proper pressure to open them fuel will flow through them it may come at the wrong pressure or amount but fuel will still flow unless they are clogged and not sure I have ever heard of that before. I assume the truck was running before you put the sump in.
Old 07-05-2019, 04:55 PM