Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   Other (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/)
-   -   Gun cleaner and oil (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/gun-cleaner-oil-325539/)

NJTman 07-05-2016 10:47 AM

Gun cleaner and oil

Hey guys
New to gun practicing shooting, and I have a few questions for you.

Read many different opposite opinions on cleaners and protestants.

Wd40 is. Kerosene crapola
Silicone spray creates varnish on inside of chambers
Dextron is good for protecting but toxic to hand exposure over time
Mineral spirits clean bores well
3 n 1 oil good lube but messy
Personal lube used by some. Really ????
Best lube s food grade spray grease at $200 a spray can

So, being a novice, I could do with a bit of experienced words

Thanks.

Currently using a gun cleaning kit for my .38 special, but will need to refill or replace as I'm running out of cleaners, pads, gun grease

Thanks

T.

sherod 07-05-2016 12:42 PM

CLP has always been my goto lube and cleaner. If not available, 3 in 1 with a few extra rags.

NJTman 07-05-2016 04:50 PM

Originally Posted by sherod (Post 3307364)
CLP has always been my goto lube and cleaner. If not available, 3 in 1 with a few extra rags.

This stuff ?

Break-FreeŽ Gun Cleaners : Cabela's

We don't have a cabela's around here, but I'm sure it's available elsewhere

sherod 07-05-2016 05:24 PM

Very close. CLP is the military lube. It stands for Cleaner, Lubricant, Protectant. Does a really good job unless you get in the super cold areas.

Break Free would be my second choice, but a generous wiping will be in order.

cougar 07-07-2016 11:37 AM