Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   Other (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/)
-   -   dual mig welder (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/dual-mig-welder-261555/)

jimbo486 01-12-2010 10:29 PM

dual mig welder

i just ordered one from harbor freight (if any of you are familiar with that chain) for $152 and i'm gonna teach myself with what knowledge i have so far and having some friends who do weld. new it sells for $250! this one's a factory reconditioned unit, can do both mig and flux core wire and comes with a 2lbs. spool of flux wire. i can live with that while i'm a beginner and work my way up to bigger and better in the future. i'll probably only use it as a flux core for now until i get into fabricating stuff that needs a little more strength. does anyone have any pointers for a beginner? it'll be nice to fab up some of my own stuff for once!

HMX-1 01-13-2010 05:47 AM

Get a good welding hood with the ability to easily swap glass. Also make sure you have extra glass of the proper tint on hand. Many times I've accidentally broken/cracked the glass and didn't have any extra to replace it.

Start with glass that isn't too dark just so you can get a feel for it, then switch to the dark stuff. It's not good for your eyes to use the lighter tints out there all the time.

Get yourself a good set of comfortable welding gloves and a welding jacket. There's a lot of heat involved and a metal burn hurts.

Kris

tesla440 01-13-2010 06:05 AM

I started like you with an cheap welder. I got mine from Northerntool (MIG 135) instead of harborfreight. I haven't used much stuff from harborfrieght as I have a tendancy to brake my tools. Being an entry level welder it should be fine especial you can use both flux & solid core wire with gas.