Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Breaker box full, how do you add?

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2006, 01:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Breaker box full, how do you add?

I have a Square D box, 4 dual pole breakers and 22 singles. It is full to the max.
How do I get one more dual pole out of it without extensive work?

One of the 220's is turned off 350 days a year (hot water heater). Can I join into it and run a welder and the hot water heater at the same time?
Only welding one day every 3 months.

Thanks.
Old 02-16-2006, 01:29 PM
Admin Team Leader

Received 207 Likes on 158 Posts
I am not an electrician, but I did drive past a Holiday Inn last night

I would run that welder off it's own circuit if it were me. One way to free up space in a box is to replace a single breaker with a newer double breaker, it takes the same space as a single but will handle 2 lines.

I used a couple on the light circuits in my home, (low load circuits) and left the heavy amp stuff on the larger breakers. Depends on your box as to what is available that would work for you, but I found what I needed in a few minutes at Lowes.

I have some background training in Electronics and I am real comfortable with Electrical so not a problem for me at all. Just be sure to not go over the rated capabilities of your exisiting box.
Old 02-16-2006, 01:33 PM

New Breaker

Good deal, I will go find some of these new things.

Thanks for the info.
Old 02-16-2006, 01:35 PM
Banned

Yea, what Lary said. Not that he is right, He just guessed correctly this time.
Old 02-16-2006, 01:56 PM
It's my pot and I'll stir it if I want to. If you're not careful, I'll stir your's as well!

Received 152 Likes on 118 Posts
If the incoming wires are a large enough diameter (wire gauge), why not just tap into them and add a new breaker box?
Old 02-16-2006, 02:43 PM

Originally Posted by Mexstan