Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   Other (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/)
-   -   Adding a beavertail(dovetail) to a gooseneck (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/other-94/adding-beavertail-dovetail-gooseneck-259589/)

Purplezr2 12-16-2009 07:51 PM

Adding a beavertail(dovetail) to a gooseneck

So I found a killer deal on a 20ft gooseneck(1500$) and the thing looks like new. The issue, it does not have a beavertail on the back. My question is I'm a decent welder, is this something I could just add, any suggestion on the way to go about it, basically I want the advantage you have with being able to have less ramp angle.

also suggestions on the best place to buy a gooseneck hitch for a 98.5

chaikwa 12-16-2009 07:57 PM

You could add it on, but it'd be easier to cut the frame and drop it to an angle if there's enough room after the rear spring hangars.

chaikwa.

Purplezr2 12-16-2009 08:13 PM

Originally Posted by chaikwa (Post 2655816)
You could add it on, but it'd be easier to cut the frame and drop it to an angle if there's enough room after the rear spring hangars.

chaikwa.

could I just go like two feet back and then add an extension.

rockcrawler304 12-16-2009 08:19 PM

I agree with chaikwa. I would rather do that if possible over any kind of extension.

cincydiesel 12-16-2009 08:25 PM

If its an I-Beam I would sugest wehat Chaikwa has. Box frame wouldn't be to bad to add an extension on but they are generally used on RV's

larrybartlett 12-16-2009 08:54 PM

not tryiung to be a [nonono] but since you had to ask if it was possible I hope you aren't planning a "do it yourself" project, find a couple of "good" welding machine shops, tell them what you want and get bids comparing the "how" to the cost; have them include a materials description so that you can compare the type and sizes of the steel being used