HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Oops....

Old 10-24-2002, 06:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oops....

Howdy, I have been surfing here for about 4 months since I bought my first diesel truck. I of course learned about low sulfer fuels etc. While at the pumps I was about to pour in some of the good stuff!! I watched as I opened the bottle and the cardboard in the cap fell off directly into the filler pipe. I stopped and drove the truck home slowly. I took the filler pipe apart and it was too late, the cardboard disc was already in the tank. I called the dealer and he said not to worry about it that it would dissolve in the fuel and not cause any problems and would be filtered out in the fuel filter. I am debating whether I should drop the tank. Has anyone here heard (not asking anyone else to admit to this!) about this happening and if it worked itself out. <br><br>Love this truck and am looking forward to upgrades, if anyone has a 6 speed HO with the EZ I would like to hear recommendations.<br>Eric
Old 10-24-2002, 06:41 PM
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Re:Oops....

Welcome to the site BPD.<br><br>I do not have a good answer for you. There's a lot of good folks on here with plenty of knowlege. <br><br>Good luck.<br><br><br><br><br><br>Rich
Old 10-24-2002, 06:47 PM
Administrator / Scooter Bum

Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts

I believe the fuel pick-up in the tank has a screen filter to keep out the &quot;big stuff&quot;.<br>It shouldn't present any problem.<br><br>Now when you drop a piece of the seal on an oil bottle in the oil fill cap that's a whole different problem.<br>You don't want to do that.
Old 10-24-2002, 07:07 PM