General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Adding a Turbo - Chevy 6.5

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2002, 10:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Adding a Turbo - Chevy 6.5

Couldnt afford the cummins I wanted but got a good deal on a 83 1 ton with a 6.5 conversion. Only thing is its not turbo and i want one.Does anyone know the best option for adding one? Banks kit of course but is there a more powerful/durable option? Any other mod ideas would be appreciated this is my first diesel and I am just learning. Thanx
Old 10-17-2002, 12:26 PM

Re:Adding a Turbo - Chevy 6.5

Well I have to say that I wouldn't do it. Friend got a used chevy dullay with the 6.5 in it. Had a broken rod so we rebuilt the whole thing back to stock specs. Well then he tried to pull with it, that thing is just a big turd, a good 350 will pull just as good. So then he went and spent all the big bucks on a complete Banks kit for it, well after a short pull of about 50 miles in now has a leaking head gasket. So it got parked untill it gets new head gaskets this winter.<br><br>Even if it does get running right it will never compare the power of a Cummins. Also the exaust temps were too high and he has to back the pump down some from what the instructions said to turn it up to. They are also known for weak cranks I guess.
Old 10-17-2002, 01:34 PM
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts