Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   General Diesel Discussion (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/general-diesel-discussion-92/)
-   -   Help!!! (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/general-diesel-discussion-92/help-215190/)

ddunn 08-25-2008 12:38 PM

Help!!! Looking for Advice.

Hi... looking to buy my first Dodge diesel and I have no experience.... looking for an older model to tow a travel trailer.... i heard the 1997 12v engine is very good... is that true or should i be looking for something different?... thanks... something reliable....

madhat 08-25-2008 02:07 PM

Stay away from the VP44 injection pump... The P7100 is a great injection pump. There is a series of engine blocks that are known for cracking... the 53 block. You'll have to do some research about that, I'm not too spun up on it.

The 12v was a great, fuel efficent motor.

Good luck.

dodgeguy71 08-25-2008 04:07 PM

The 12v is the engine of choice for some, others like the 24v. Yes you have the dreaded VP44 on the 24v only thing that can be done about that involves FASS or Airdog(or other) and a good quality aftermarket VP44. So that can be pricey....$2000. Other than that my 24v has been fine. If I want more power I buy some computer thingy and plug it in. On your 12v you want more power prepare to get greasy and play with the 7100. Then you have the killer dowel pin on the 12v, which if not caught can be bad.

I'm not afraid to jump in my 24v and drive to cali tomorrow, can't afford the fuel but it'll do it and make it home. Same can be said about the 12v's. I bought mine after reading and hearing about the dreaded vp44 so I was prepared if it happened. It did and dodge paid for it.