Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   General Diesel Discussion (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/general-diesel-discussion-92/)
-   -   Fuel Additives: Emulsify water or demulsify? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/general-diesel-discussion-92/fuel-additives-emulsify-water-demulsify-288860/)

bcfitzsimons 04-20-2011 08:50 PM

Fuel Additives: Emulsify water or demulsify?

OK so I've spent the last 2 hours going through all the threads on here and other forums about the various benefits and detractions of using fuel additives for water emulsification vs. water demulsification.

Having been trained as an organic chemist, I know what the differences are between emulsification and demulsification. I also know that my Cat 1R-0750 and Baldwin PF 7977 fuel filters have predominantly cellulose-based media, which are excellent in absorbing free water (which is probably why I have never seen free water come out of the stock fuel filter bowl when I drain it every week). I also know that the filters trap water in their media because algae grows on the Baldwin filter, and I can see it (it looks black-that's algae)-and algae only grows at the diesel-water interface.

The big question with emulsifiers is what happens to a water/diesel emulsion when it's pressurized to 30,000 lbs and then exposed to the shearing effect and heat that occurs in an injector. I don't know of any research that has looked at that emulsion being maintained in that environment. Does it accelerate injector wear? Internal fuel line rust?