Fuels / BioDiesel / Diesel Prices Use this forum to discuss your biodiesel information, and to find the best price on fuel.

Diesel Prices High - Gas Falling... ***

Old 09-04-2006, 11:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Diesel Prices High - Gas Falling... ***

In houston Diesel has been around $2.70 for a couple of months, gas has been $3.00, last week gas started falling and is at $2.41 now diesel went up to $2.84. I know it takes less to process diesel than it does gas, whats the deal
Old 09-04-2006, 11:30 AM

Unhappy

I'm wondering that myself.....?? Gas here (SW VA) is as low as $2.50 but the lowest diesel is $2.80...??? back in the day when I worked on these beasts for a living diesel was always way cheaper than gas and that was one of the selling points to the wife to buy my new truck, I guess I shoulda checked prices before opening my big mouth....
Old 09-04-2006, 11:40 AM

Question

Same here, I live 30 mins north of Dallas and around here Gas is around 2.40 and diesel is around 2.90 . I was also wondering the new sign on diesel pumps saying that This diesel could damage 2007 and newer diesel engines, whats this about?
Old 09-04-2006, 12:13 PM

It's all the theory of supply and demand...the oil companies realized that if they raise the price of diesel it won't matter much since most heavy equipment requires diesel and people will keep buying it even if it is higher priced...thats my .02 anyways...
Old 09-04-2006, 12:49 PM
P.J
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by ratat98
It's all the theory of supply and demand...the oil companies realized that if they raise the price of diesel it won't matter much since most heavy equipment requires diesel and people will keep buying it even if it is higher priced...thats my .02 anyways...
No disrepect intended here, but I get so tired of the "Supply and Demand" story.

This can only really be true is there is PROOF that the demand has somehow lessened.