Cummins Conversions Discuss conversions here. For instance, if you want to put a REAL engine in a FORD, this is where you would talk about it!

I'm new to the game...

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2017, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm new to the game...

I'm starting a project of putting a 1991 5.9 non-intercooled 12v with an A518 trans 4x4 with NP205 in my 1978 Dodge W200 crew cab. I've read a lot of post around and on here and was wondering if anyone that had done this or something close to share their most informative threads or links. Any help appreciated. My son and I first project.
Attached Thumbnails I'm new to the game...-photo4294966762.jpg  
Old 03-08-2017, 02:04 PM
BHD

Received 386 Likes on 256 Posts
Nice truck. Welcome to the club!
Old 03-08-2017, 04:17 PM

Received 2,375 Likes on 1,571 Posts
Plenty of threads here on crew cab builds.
Grab a beer, search "crew cab" under the 1st gen section and read away for hours.

Just one question. Was the transmission pulled out of the same truck as the 12V?
I ask because '91.0 non intercooled 12Vs had a NON over drive 727 auto behind them.
The '91.5-'93 intercooled 12Vs had the over driven A-518 set up.

Great looking crew cab.
Old 03-08-2017, 05:24 PM

Thanks. The engine and trans that I have, was used in a suburban build and was 2wd used to pull a stock car. I got it on trade for an Ar-15. Then traded a dirt bike for a A518 with 4x4 tail housing and Np205 freshly rebuilt on both, mounts coolers etc. out of a 93 Dodge. I hope I can put this puzzle together. I've own a bike shop build bikes and working on Harleys for 15 plus years. This is a first for me.
Old 03-08-2017, 05:35 PM
BHD

Originally Posted by oliver foster
Plenty of threads here on crew cab builds.
Grab a beer, search "crew cab" under the 1st gen section and read away for hours.
I grab a beer and stare at mine for hours trying to "will" it together.