Big Rigs Talk about other Cummins powered vehicles here. As a matter of fact, it doesn't even have to be Cummins, but it will be diesel! :)

Need info on Big Rig motors for Vol Fire Dept

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2011, 06:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need info on Big Rig motors for Vol Fire Dept

We are in the process of buying a new fire truck (custom cab pumper 186 wheel base with 750 gallons of water) and are specing out a few motors. We have had considerable good luck out of cummins in the past and they are at the top of our list. Currently we have a Cat 3208 in a 89 Ford, a 8.3 cummins in a 94 Freightliner, and a 400hp ISL in a 2005 Ferrar. We are very pleased with the performance of the ISL and are hoping to put one in the new truck, but some of the Manufactures have thrown around other motors. I have a lot of respect for the opinions of the members of this forum and have decided to ask this question here because I have little experience with the larger displacement motors. I want to hear all points good or bad about the following motors. All of them will be going in a post emissions compliant chassis so I also need to know the problems associated with the new equipment as well. So with that said what is the majority opinion on the following motor manufactures, please keep the discussion to the larger displacement motors and not those offered in pickups.

Navistar Maxforce series
Detroit Diesel
Cummins

Thank you in advance.
Old 10-11-2011, 08:01 AM

All are good engines. The one difference is the International stayed away from DPF fluid. Mercedes is also a good engine, and the bigger engines normally come with a five year warranty. But I believe International also provides 5 year warranty on fire truck application. The others may as well.
Old 10-11-2011, 09:05 AM
Administrator ........ DTR's puttin fires out and workin on big trucks admin

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts