Big Rigs Talk about other Cummins powered vehicles here. As a matter of fact, it doesn't even have to be Cummins, but it will be diesel! :)

Advice for a newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2013, 10:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice for a newbie?

I'm planning on buying a 'toterhome' for semi-local camping, but more for towing a big 5th wheel longer distances. I'm new to the world of big rigs, and not sure how to assess the suitability of the various platform choices. I've done some searching and found a few threads here and there on the topic, but if anyone knows of a thread/forum/book that discusses the relative merits of Cat/Cummins/Detroit Diesel/MB/Volvo and Freightliner/Kenworth/Peterbilt/Spartan and Allison/Meritor or whatever, then I'd sure like to be pointed in that direction.

Thx, Eric Diehl
Old 07-01-2014, 06:52 PM

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by ediehl
I'm planning on buying a 'toterhome' for semi-local camping, but more for towing a big 5th wheel longer distances. I'm new to the world of big rigs, and not sure how to assess the suitability of the various platform choices. I've done some searching and found a few threads here and there on the topic, but if anyone knows of a thread/forum/book that discusses the relative merits of Cat/Cummins/Detroit Diesel/MB/Volvo and Freightliner/Kenworth/Peterbilt/Spartan and Allison/Meritor or whatever, then I'd sure like to be pointed in that direction.

Thx, Eric Diehl