Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   Big Rigs (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/big-rigs-169/)
-   -   Advice for a newbie? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/big-rigs-169/advice-newbie-315152/)

ediehl 11-05-2013 10:41 AM

Advice for a newbie?

I'm planning on buying a 'toterhome' for semi-local camping, but more for towing a big 5th wheel longer distances. I'm new to the world of big rigs, and not sure how to assess the suitability of the various platform choices. I've done some searching and found a few threads here and there on the topic, but if anyone knows of a thread/forum/book that discusses the relative merits of Cat/Cummins/Detroit Diesel/MB/Volvo and Freightliner/Kenworth/Peterbilt/Spartan and Allison/Meritor or whatever, then I'd sure like to be pointed in that direction.

Thx, Eric Diehl

ftltmp 07-01-2014 06:52 PM

Originally Posted by ediehl (Post 3210533)
I'm planning on buying a 'toterhome' for semi-local camping, but more for towing a big 5th wheel longer distances. I'm new to the world of big rigs, and not sure how to assess the suitability of the various platform choices. I've done some searching and found a few threads here and there on the topic, but if anyone knows of a thread/forum/book that discusses the relative merits of Cat/Cummins/Detroit Diesel/MB/Volvo and Freightliner/Kenworth/Peterbilt/Spartan and Allison/Meritor or whatever, then I'd sure like to be pointed in that direction.

Thx, Eric Diehl