4th Gen Ram -Non Drivetrain- 2010 and Up Talk about the 2010 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Fuel Filter Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2014, 10:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Filter Question

Hello to everyone. I am a "newbie" in more ways than one. Not only am I a newbie to this forum, but I am also a newbie to diesel trucks. Last November I purchased a Dodge Ram 2500 with the intention of using it to tow a 15,000 travel trailer from Calif to Texas.

A few weeks ago I saw that the fuel filter life was down to about 20%. I went to a local dealership (not the one I purchased the truck from, I am currently working about 400 miles away from home) and asked about having the fuel filter changed. I was told it would cost about $200.00. When asked why so much, I was told it was because my truck had 2 fuel filters that needed to be changed. Ok, news to me, but as I said, I know nothing about diesel trucks. I didn't have $200.00 to spare at that time.... but returned to that dealership a few weeks later to have the job done. After waiting for seven hours, I am told that my truck is done, and the bill is $118.00. I ask about the difference in price, and find out that they replaced only one of the fuel filters, not both.

Being new to diesels, I have no idea what is standard and what is not. Is it standard to only replace one of the filters, or should both of them have been changed? When I got back into the truck I pulled up the display for the fuel filter expecting to see the filter life at 100%. Instead, the display showed 89% life. Is this because only one of the filters was replaced? What are the disadvantages if only one of the filters are replaced and not the other?

I am really out of my depth here, and would appreciate any advice....

USMCRet93
Old 07-13-2014, 07:26 PM

just my opinion....but if I was going to change one filter, I would change both.