4th Gen High Performance and Accessories 2010 and Up Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for fourth generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

new guy /deletes for 2012

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2016, 02:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new guy /deletes for 2012

Hello DTR!
I am new to this forum, other than the obligatory lurking off and on for a while now.
I am also fairly new to the world of diesel trucks as well. The truck in my sig. is my first diesel.
Purchased it brand new in 2012.
So far, this site has been my main source to try to learn all about these rigs.
Seems like a pretty knowledgeable bunch in here!
I am in the process of doing deletes. I did read the entire delete thread by Blake, thank you for that.
Here is what I got going on:
RACEMe tuner- installed program to my ECM after some initial nuisance problems. (I was code free before I began)
Turbo back FLO-PRO 4” down pipe and DPF delete back to stock muffler- installed
Have not installed the items below yet. It will be my weekend project.
Sinister EGR/cooler delete kit-
Sinister throttle body delete-
I purchased an A beam gauge pod and a boost gauge and a EGT gauge. Have not installed these yet either.
My question at the moment is with the gauges.
Where is the best place to tap into the intake manifold to read boost? Is there a port somewhere on the stock intake elbow I can use? I don’t see anywhere yet, Or maybe can I tap a 1/8” NPT port into the sinister block-off plate where the EGR was mounted?
For the pressure tubing I was just going to use some 1/8” id white nylon. Unless something better is recommended?
For the EGT probe, does it matter what I use for this ..( eg. Matched to gauge I purchased), or are they all pretty standard ? I have not decided where I am going to put it yet, pre turbo or after.
Sorry if this was too much info. to begin with. Just wanted to give a complete idea of the scope of work I am trying to accomplish.