Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-high-performance-accessories-5-9l-only-107/)
-   -   Increase milage (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-high-performance-accessories-5-9l-only-107/increase-milage-330565/)

wtausa1 07-11-2018 07:40 AM

Increase milage

Have 05 Ram 2500 semi stock, 5.9, G56 6th speed, Raid cold air intake, Edge with Attitude and After oil filter. Would like to increase fuel mileage.
Would a new intake manifold and exhaust manifold along with larger injectors along with boost fuel pump be Helpful?
Any Help will be Appreciated as I am new to this.
Thanks,
Tom

marathon 07-11-2018 09:01 AM

Keep tires up and keep out of right foot. I've gotten 21+ in mine. Get rid of anything that increases your air drag. These trucks have the aerodynamics of a brick and lots of add-ons sticking out makes it worse.

Free breathing manifold/exhaust and larger injectors along with a matched turbo will improve things but most people can't keep their foot out of it.

mega-engr 07-12-2018 05:45 PM

Ya, nice upgrades just make you want to use more fuel and have more fun :-). The biggest bang for your buck by far is your driving style. 70% of any improvement in MPG will be the one in the driver seat.

HighTen 08-25-2018 12:02 AM

From all my reading here I've concluded (correctly, I hope) that the biggest mileage gains are from the most expensive accessories.[laugh] It sounds like new injector nozzles, camshafts, and some programmers make the most significant changes. It just seems like air intakes and exhaust get mixed results. But, this could be the right foot influence others are talking about also.

mopardamo 10-25-2018 01:02 AM

Originally Posted by HighTen (Post 3352234)