3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New engine build 5.9

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2016, 05:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New engine build 5.9

I'm looking to rebuild my 2005 dodge ram cummins. As it sits it washed out #5 cylinder. I'm looking to build a 400 to 600 hp truck that is bullet proof and does not smoke a ton. I am not a fan of rolling coal it brings to much attention. I have $25k to do engine and turbo.
So far the build sheet is as follows.
Engine bore and home
Big valve cylinder head
Arp 625 head studs
Arp main studs
Arp rod bolts
Ham 188/220 cam
So I am at a lost for a few things
Rods
Twin turbo
Injectors
And bov and waste gates to manage drive pressure. I am a novice at twins
Old 03-23-2016, 11:20 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
stock rods are fine, you dont need compounds, but they will be nicer to have for the 600 HP range. there is big difference between 400 and 600 HP, so come up with a narrower goal so we can help you make decisions. after all my research, i personally think that a cam is waste of money, but some guys have noticed a little a difference in their truck with a cam.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:03 AM

Rebuild ideas

Originally Posted by CRF450R RIDER
stock rods are fine, you dont need compounds, but they will be nicer to have for the 600 HP range. there is big difference between 400 and 600 HP, so come up with a narrower goal so we can help you make decisions. after all my research, i personally think that a cam is waste of money, but some guys have noticed a little a difference in their truck with a cam.