Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-high-performance-accessories-5-9l-only-107/)
-   -   03 - New 60hp Injectors - Losing MPG? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-high-performance-accessories-5-9l-only-107/03-new-60hp-injectors-losing-mpg-310294/)

Dex003 02-19-2013 01:42 PM

03 - New 60hp Injectors - Lost MPG?

Hi:

2003 3500 QC 4x4 Newbie here. A few months ago, I replaced the worn out stock injectors at 184k with a +60hp set from USA Freedom Diesels out of Montana. I don't have any complaints about driveability or power, but I sure am disappointed with my mileage ever since I put them in. This is at idle, and under normal driving unloaded. Mild air box mod, No Cat, free exhaust, Edge EZ

The first thing I noticed after installing them is that the exhaust smells worse at idle than when it had stock injectors, like it's not burning efficiently. No smoke, just stinks. I had the Edge EZ at #3, but have since backed off to #1 in order to try reducing the fuel consumption because I saw some haze under acceleration and soot collecting on my bumper. Running #1 doesn't seem to make a difference.

Since I am relatively new to CTD engines, I am asking for suggestions on what I can do to get my mileage back. I've been searching and reading some of the posts, but nothing seems to describe my experience. Isaac at USA Freedom Diesels offered to replace the 60hp nozzles with stock ones, but what a hassle that is and I really want the extra fuel/HP when I pull my 5th wheel camper...I just don't need the injectors wasting fuel at idle/part throttle cruise. Mods? Stack Boxes? Tricks? What is there available to me that will modify the injector duration?

Or do I wait for EFI Live like everyone else?

cjones42 02-19-2013 10:06 PM