Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2007 and up (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2007-up-114/)
-   -   Clutch/Tranny Noise (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2007-up-114/clutch-tranny-noise-298243/)

JonM 12-10-2011 05:17 PM

Clutch/Tranny Noise

I'm a newbie so please be gentle...

I have an '08 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW 4WD with 6.7L Cummins and 6-speed manual. It is not the H.O. to the best of my knowledge... Engine and drivetrain components are ALL STOCK. I bought the truck in 07/2011 with 120K miles on it. When in neutral and clutch is not pressed, there is a notable whine at any given engine speed. The whine is present in every gear except 5th. It seems to be a little quieter in 4WD. As it has gotten colder, when I push in the clutch, I hear a high pitched "ringing noise" like a tuning fork... It doesn't do this all the time, but it seems to be happening more and more. I read the owner's manual and it mentions greasing the clutch linkage... Dunno where to do this since it is done with hydraulics and a slave cylinder...

Am I about to have to change a clutch, pressure plate and throwout bearing or is there a place to hook up a grease gun?

Thanks for your help!

coloblacksmoke 12-10-2011 11:34 PM

I have an 08 with a 6spd (61,000mi.) and have a different problem, maybe we can both be helped. When parked and in neutral and I release my clutch it kind of makes a clunking sound???

JonM 12-13-2011 09:05 PM

Coloblacksmoke, looks like no one will respond to our posts so I will try to help with some info I learned.
Is it the Mercedes 6-speed?

stickk 12-13-2011 10:24 PM