Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2003-2007-102/)
-   -   White smoke at idle (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2003-2007-102/white-smoke-idle-162010/)

jennaspappy 07-27-2007 10:41 PM

White smoke at idle

Hello, This is my first time so if I mess it up sorry. I have an 03 dodge 5.9 that has white smoke when idling and more black smoke than usual during acceleration. Fuel milage down. Had it in dealership for a week they replaced #3 & # 5 injector and did not help. Need help I have an edge chip & AFE air filter. thanks

Rpainter 07-28-2007 07:07 AM

sounds like they missed a bad injector you can take it back and argue with they about it or you can check to see if there is a white smoke tsb for that year if not time for aftermarket sticks

t-boe 07-28-2007 07:59 AM

Keep an eye on your oil level. I'd take it back to the dealer like Rpainter said. Try running somes Howes in one tank and a quart of 2 stroke in the next tank. Basically cleaning up one tank and lubing up the next. I think the ULSD is reaking havoc on everyones injectors.

ohyeahfriday 07-28-2007 08:14 AM

I had white smoke as well, took the truck in to the dealer. They did the ECM flash for white smoke, but come the next day, guess what
? no different!

Oil level has been normal thus far, only other thing is some what of a tick once in a while, but figured it is a diesel, it doesn't run quiet. I am kind of lost on this one.

B.Law 07-28-2007 03:18 PM

Originally Posted by Rpainter (Post 1620217)
sounds like they missed a bad injector you can take it back and argue with they about it or you can check to see if there is a white smoke tsb for that year if not time for aftermarket sticks