Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2003-2007-102/)
-   -   Should I buy this vibrating truck (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/3rd-gen-engine-drivetrain-2003-2007-102/should-i-buy-vibrating-truck-133620/)

JOE M 01-23-2007 06:45 PM

Should I buy this vibrating truck

I am new to this sight and only drove a Cummins once, and that is why I am onboard.

I test drove a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500 Quad Cab SLT LWB Cummins w/ a 4spd. o/d tranny 4X4 today. It has 85,000 on it and was pretty clean.I have a question about strong vibration/hum in the truck cruising at 60-70 mph and at times a howling sound w/ the vibration.It was not felt in the steering wheel but just noisy.If you change the RPM's up or down the howl briefly went away but the vidrating sound was still there. The truck is priced right at $19,000 slightly below wholesale value (KBB) and 5K below NADA.

Is this sound normal? My 02 Excursion is super quiet for a diesel at 60-70 mph.,which I am keeping by the way.(Sorry/LOL) My buddy who was with me who is a diesel mechanic said vibration is pretty normal with the inline diesel engines. I road in a friends 2007 st and it was smooth and quiet compared to this one.

Any inputs? Also do you think I should buy it? $19k is about my limit.

Thanks,Joe M.

elandon1201 01-23-2007 06:56 PM

Originally Posted by JOE M (Post 1316035)
I am new to this sight and only drove a Cummins once, and that is why I am onboard.